BHS FB Playoff Primer #1

Posted by Beech High School on Oct 30 2017 at 09:33AM PDT in 2017-2018

Beech is 254-171 overall in the 38 years of playing football in Shackle Island, TN. The Bucs playoff record is 23-20 overall which included two 5-0 state title runs and a 3-1 run to the semifinals in 1995.
Under HC Anthony Crabtree, the Bucs have won the 2009 and ’12 5A Championship and are 17-9 overall in the playoffs. The last 3 seasons the Bucs have fallen in the second round and since the 2012 State Title are 3-4 with a first round exit in ’13 (31-26 loss to Hillsboro) and 3 consecutive second round exits. In ’14 a loss to Shelbyville (OT loss 42-41), in ’15 to Hillsboro (42-7) and in ’16 a 25-7 loss to Cane Ridge.
Not to put the cart before the horse, but looming in the background is a second round rematch with Hillsboro. BHS defeated Hillsboro 20-14 in week 7. The Burros have been a nemesis for the Bucs in recent years having eliminated the Bucs from playoff football in 2013 and ’15. This is a different Burro team however, as HC Craig Clayton resigned following the ’16 season. In five seasons at Hillsboro (2012-16), Clayton, a Caldwell County (Ky.) graduate, led the Metro Nashville school to a 43-21 (.672) record with a pair of state quarterfinal appearances and a Class 5A runner-up finish in 2014. Long time Metro coach Maurice Fitzgerald has taken over and the Burros are 6-4 this season.
The record is deceiving as Hillsboro is still loaded with athletic talent quite capable of running the table and winning a state title. If and when the Bucs beat the Lions of Columbia, the second round game will be played at Beech and could very well determine the state final opponent from the West TN side of the bracket. Only time will tell…

Record vs Columbia All Time (5-0)
2014 38-36
2012 56-35
2009 47-33
2000 17-9
1999 14-10

Record vs Hillsboro All Time (3-6)
2017 20-14 W
2016 12-35
2015 7-42
2015 17-21
2013 26-31
2012 35-6 W
2008 21-42
2007 7 -37
1983 23-12 W

When thinking of top all time best playoff games, other than the state title wins, 3 games come to mind: the 1995 25-9 win over the Westwood Longhorns. The Longhorns were one of the first teams in TN to run the no huddle up tempo shot gun style we now see regularly. With QB Kenton Evans leading the charge, the Longhorns were averaging over 400 yards passing per game and scoring around 50 pts per game. He led Shelby County in passing from 1993-1995. Evans still holds single-game records for attempts (71), completions (45), yards (597) TD Passes (38) and touchdowns (nine) along with career records in those categories. 10,849 Career Passing Yards, 3828 in ‘95… you get the idea. Beech HC Roger Holmes and DC Dennis Moreno devised a scheme to sub D-Line and LB’s frequently which allowed the Bucs to continually keep pressure on the Longhorn QB and it worked. Beech knocked off the front runner 25-9 in a complete stunner.
The second game that comes to mind is the 2009 semi-final matchup with Memphis Mitchell. Mitchell was a scoring machine, scoring 40+ points in 7 games that season. Beech had avenged an early season 7-0 loss to Gallatin the week before (32-29). HC Anthony Crabtree had decided to onside kick just about every kickoff and it paid off as we outscored them 50-42 to advance to our first state championship game. This game was an “instant classic”. You can listen to this game via the link:
The third game that comes to mind is the 2012 quarterfinal matchup with Clarksville NE. The Bucs won 44-43. The Bucs featured Jalen Hurd who set state rushing records galore and NE had Jalen Reeves-Maybin, now an NFL player with the Detroit Lions. This game was a slugfest as each team traded out touchdowns the entire game. Reeves-Maybin, who was the QB and LB had hurt his arm and could not throw well. He and Hurd battled back an forth all night and it was just an amazing game to watch. After a successful 2 pt conversion to take the lead with 51 seconds left in the game, Hurd intercepted a pass at midfield as time expired. It was the defacto 5A State Championship game in 2012 as the Bucs mashed Northside 64-31 and Columbia 56-35 to win the title 2 weeks later.